The Archive @

Introducing the East African Community (Jumuiya Ya Afrika Mashariki)

What is the East African Community?

The East African Community (EAC) is the regional intergovernmental organisation of the Republics of Kenya, Uganda and the United Republic of Tanzania with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania. The treaty for establishment of the East African Community was signed in 1999 and it entered into force in 2000 following its ratification by the Partner States.

What are the aims and objectives of the East African Community?

The East African Community aims at widening and deepening co-operation among the Partner States in, among others, political, economic and social fields for their mutual benefit. To this extent there shall be established a Customs Union as the entry point of the Community, a Common Market, subsequently a Monetary Union and ultimately a Political Federation of the East African States.

Source: EAC Website

Established: 1999

Headquarters: Arusha, Tanzania

Members: Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda

More Info:


Back to the Archive @


The author of the article (or any material) of the other website (whose link is given here) carries the full responsibility of any kind related to his/her contribution. "" IS NOT accountable for any thought and content of the author's articles/documents.

Also, is an independent publication that does not endorse any single idea or represent any entity or group.


Best Viewed in Microsoft Internet Explorer Browsers IE4+